Too warm out to hibernate

December 12, it was in the mid 60’s today.  I don’t know why this is happening, but I’m not asking questions.  Being able to run in a t-shirt with no gloves, no arm warmers, no winter socks…..it goes against everything I know about winters in CT and the northeast.  Usually by this time of year I have already been retired to the treadmill and the trainer for a month, with the exception of sucking up cold weekend runs outside.  The only downside is that there really isn’t any skiing going on around here.

I took quite a few months “off” – unstructured fun time and it was nice.  I didn’t set a pre-determined schedule of workouts.  I worked out later in the day, which if you know me, you know I have a better chance of getting struck by lightning than going out for a run after 3pm.  I did brick workouts.  Yup, bricks.  Only a handful of them and they were mini ones, but it was still more than I did in my entire last season of training.  I ran without music, half the time I didn’t wear a watch.  It was peaceful and refreshing.  I gave myself no real deadline of when I needed to go back on a schedule, but told myself that the day I wake up and want to get back to a more structured routine, I had to commit to it.  I’m back to a routine now and working to work off all the “enjoyment” from the past couple months.  🙂

Jay and I cancelled Thanksgiving this year and ran away to the Grand Canyon.  We hiked from the top of the North Rim to the bottom, crossed the Colorado River, then hiked back up to the top in one day.  It was beautiful and exhausting.  After 18 miles and 7000 feet of elevation, I reached the trail head parking lot.  I sat on the curb and didn’t move until the bus came to take me back to the car.  It was all worth it and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

20151128_084547_001

looking out at the road ahead

20151128_074056

just after sunrise in the Grand Canyon, not even 3 miles in

Besides the big Grand Canyon trip there hasn’t been much activity.  I’ve been kept busy finishing up my master’s degree which is finally completed (yay!).  I can finally say that I only have to go back to school if I want to.  Let’s be honest though, I enjoy learning and I don’t know how to live without having 674 things to do every day, so I will probably end up going back for my 6th year degree in the near future.

20151128_120847

We obviously didn’t ignore the sign telling us to not do the exact hike we did, otherwise how would we have a picture of it?

Leave a Reply

